This content is only available as a PDF.

Author notes


His publications include “Cultural Software” (1998) and “The Laws of Change” (2002). He was elected a Fellow of the American Academy in 2005.


He is the author of “Written in Stone” (1998) and “Wrestling with Diversity” (2003) and the editor of “Torture: A Collection” (2004)

This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0) license, which permits copying and redistributing the material in any medium or format for noncommercial purposes only. For a full description of the license, please visit

Article PDF first page preview

Article PDF first page preview