DCAT is an RDF vocabulary designed to facilitate interoperability between data catalogs published on the Web. Since its first release in 2014 as a W3C Recommendation, DCAT has seen a wide adoption across communities and domains, particularly in conjunction with implementing the FAIR data principles (for findable, accessible, interoperable and reusable data). These implementation experiences, besides demonstrating the fitness of DCAT to meet its intended purpose, helped identify existing issues and gaps. Moreover, over the last few years, additional requirements emerged in data catalogs, given the increasing practice of documenting not only datasets but also data services and APIs. This paper illustrates the new version of DCAT, explaining the rationale behind its main revisions and extensions, based on the collected use cases and requirements, and outlines the issues yet to be addressed in future versions of DCAT.

This content is only available as a PDF.

Author notes

Email addresses: riccardo.albertoni@cnr.it (Riccardo Albertoni), dave@adbrowning.co.uk (David Browning), simon.cox@csiro.au, simon.j.d.cox@pm.me (Simon Cox), alejandra.gonzalez-beltran@stfc.ac.uk (Alejandra N. Gonzalez-Beltran), andrea.perego@europarl.europa.eu (Andrea Perego), peter.winstanley@semanticarts.com (Peter Winstanley)

Preprint submitted to Data Intelligence November 24, 2023

This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited. For a full description of the license, please visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/legalcode.

Article PDF first page preview

Article PDF first page preview